May Day

The other week, I encountered a throng of protesters marching right up my route home. They had banners, flags, cardboard signs, megaphones, and every possible piece of propaganda imaginable. There was not a single left-wing issue that was not mentioned, somewhere. Down with capitalism, it’s time for revolution, stop the regime…

And I thought to myself: I’ll bet they feel great, having some transcendent cause to get together and chant about; their loins girded up by the absolute certainty of their rightness.

I don’t think I’m ever going to feel that again.

Leave a Reply

