The Shape-Shifting of Belief

From a commentator on John W. Loftus’s blog (who I hope will not be annoyed that I have copied and pasted her words):

“I was raised Baptist, in a multi-generational missionary family. I’m pushing 70. The Christianity of today is nothing like the Christianity I was raised with.

In practice: the current young adult Christian generation (even evangelical missionaries) go to movies, work and shop on Sundays if “necessary”, get involved in politics (we were taught, as Baptists that the church had to keep itself separate from government or lose its liberty), drink alcoholic beverages. Divorce and remarriage is common. The women wear makeup and revealing clothes. Most haven’t read the Bible; nor would they recognize the names of most Biblical characters.Growing up, I never met anyone who participated in any of those behaviours.In doctrine: there was none of this touchy-feely “Jesus is my best friend” talk. I remember sermons, later on in my young adulthood, against that; it was considered a lack of respect. Maybe it is. Grace was not greasy; it required work and dedication. God healed, but we had no right to demand it, nor expect it. Faith by itself had no merit; it was the content of the faith, and the works based on it, that mattered. And, strangely enough, I never heard any mention of homosexuality, and rare warnings about abortion (always with the understood or stated adjective, “back-alley”.)

Christianity, these days, is a new religion to me.”

Leave a Reply

