Pastors

If you are a pastor, you are basically being paid to have confidence on behalf of other people. While I have heard the occasional sermon that has a modicum of insight in it, pastors are, in many cases, mere faith proxies. Rarely do they offer anything whatsoever aside from mere confidence in what everyone already has heard, and already believes.

For the latter half of my life, pastors stood up there said the things that I was supposed to believe. I agreed that they shared my doctrines–but if I had been forced to get up there and stand for them myself, it would have been an ordeal, and I might have ended up in precisely the situation I’m in now (except sooner).

Leave a Reply

