Muslim Dreams

I’ve been aware for quite some time that Christians have been reporting that Muslims have dreams that lead them to Jesus. It’s reported as a widespread phenomenon, affecting a lot of people. Someone from my Christian past, with whom I was chatting today, even brought it up in defense of Christianity.

I’m not even going to try to debunk this, because I can’t. My argument is that I don’t have to. Let’s take a look at an excerpt:

“A man from western Africa saw a religious Muslim in hell, and a poor Christian, who could not even give alms, in heaven. A voice explained that the decisive point was not the alms, but the faith in Jesus.”

This sounds great! Jesus is saving some of the Muslims by sending them dreams of their fellow Muslims burning to a crisp (clearly they didn’t get any special dreams warning them about believing the wrong things, or they wouldn’t be burning to a crisp).

What really sickens me, my former evangelical compatriots, is not that we believed these things were true (indeed, I’ve got no proof that they aren’t true), but that we wanted them to be true.

2 Responses to “Muslim Dreams”

  1. wabasso Says:

    What is the evangelical rebuttal to “Why does God only save SOME people, in your example?”

    I imagine this is a common atheist counterpoint so there must be an equally common defense.

  2. True.

    There are two defenses. The first is “everyone has the option to choose, and we blindly assume that God probably saves the ambiguous cases (babies, retarded people, etc.)” – here it’s implied that everyone, even uncontacted tribes, can choose some way of believing and living that counts as following God, even if they don’t know the facts.

    The second is the Calvinist defense, which says that he just does. End of line. Does not the potter have a right to make some vessels for glorification and others for destruction? Who are you to question the potter? (and Paul comes right out and says this) – personally I think this is the most “doctrinally correct” response, from the Christian view, but for obvious reasons it makes people uncomfortable.

    I was in a service not too long ago where some girl put up her hand during Q&A and asked the pastor “Why doesn’t God just choose everyone?” The pastor furrowed his brow, glanced to the side, and said “…I don’t know… I don’t know.” There was a silence and things just carried on.

Leave a Reply

