Demarcation

I should state my position that, while I cannot be called an atheist, I am unsure that Christians would presently identify me as one of their own, except in the fact that I continue in my efforts to behave as I hear Christians mean to behave. And this should be noted by those who consider themselves exceptional solely on account of their propositional beliefs. Christians are the kindest and most loving people I have ever known. And they are also the most awful people I have ever known. I call some of them awful not because they are different than others, but because they are exactly the same, and they believe otherwise.

The label of agnostic is fettered with a certain stigma of apathy that I am unwilling to shoulder at the moment. I am so deeply disturbed by what is turned up by an uninterrupted inquiry into one’s own existence that I cannot risk such a perception. It very much does matter to me. Nonetheless, it is my position that the suspension of all judgement is preferable to the results attained by certain lines of thinking, and that alternatives should be continually sought.

4 Responses to “Demarcation”

  1. I resonate with your thoughts. I recently read that huxley coined the term agnostic to rid himself of the stigma associated with athiesm…but nonetheless, now agnosticsm carries a stigma.

  2. I share your concern and position. I’m sure Christians wouldn’t call me a Christian and I definitely cannot be called an atheist. I would best describe myself as agnostic because of my uncertainty, but cannot be called in the least apathetic. The uncertainty disturbs me at levels I never even knew I had. I’ve been told the easy answer is to believe what I’ve always believed. I suppose to a degree that is true. But now that I’ve doubted I cannot simply undoubt the doubts especially in light of the evidence I’ve found in seeking the answers. Sometimes I even wonder if the evidence I’m now opening my eyes to (which others have known for some time) isn’t God’s(if He’s there) way of telling us we’ve been getting it wrong all along.

  3. How do you define Christian?

    How do you define atheist?

    How do you define agnostic?

    Thanks,
    ~K

  4. I would define a Christian as someone who believes in God, and that the nature of this God is largely consistent with what is found in the Bible, or rather, the New Testament. Apparently it is optional to act accordingly (if this is possible).

    I define an atheist as someone who believes that God, in any sense of the word, does not exist.

    I define an agnostic as someone who is unsure of the existence of God, uninterested in the existence of God, or unwilling to pass judgement on the issue.

Leave a Reply

