Cessation

In addition to the fact that I do not have much else to write, I will not be posting anything here for the next little while.

If you have ever experienced severe existential distress, I’d be interested in talking to you. Drop me a line.

I have started up another blog, corresponding to a writing project that I have meant to work on for some time now. It is essentially a collection of the unrelated ideas that I have stumbled upon over the course of my life (and as a result of insomnia). They are primarily feelings, or connections between perceptions that I have found interesting.

http://fluidabstraction.wordpress.com/

6 Responses to “Cessation”

  1. I’ve been following your blog over the past few weeks just haven’t commented. My thoughts have paralleled many of yours. No words of advice, just sympathy from a fellow doubter and sufferer!

  2. If by “experiencing severe existential distress” you mean doubting your faith to the degree of experiencing a dark night of the soul, that would be me. I’d love to be able to put the toothpaste back in the tube, but alas I cannot.

    • Alas, I find it goes much farther than that, for there are a great number of happy and opinionated people who have doubted and abandoned perspectives they once held. But there are no tubes of toothpaste that cannot be squeezed empty.

      • I am neither happy nor opinionated. Just doubting at this point and have not come to complete abandonment. My tube isn’t squeezed completely empty, but the process is certainly painful.

  3. Oh, I didn’t mean you. I just meant that it’s possible for people to doubt their faith without existential distress. That seems demonstrated.

    • That wasn’t intended as a snippy response on my part. I happen to agree with you. There seem to be quite a lot of people who have abandoned strong and long held beliefs who seemed quite happy to do so and very opinionated that others should as well. This experience I’m having doesn’t seem to equate to that. Even if I loose my faith I don’t think I’ll ever be opinionated or happy about it.

Leave a Reply

