The Rub of it All

Between Heaven and Hell

Given my affinity for well-structured reasoning, it drives me to despair, in many respects, to recognize that I cannot close such a well-structured loop around the human experience–and by this, I refer to absolutely everything. Some would say that this is a good thing, and that only people such as myself despair at it. I have not figured out if they are right.

There is a tendency to collapse statements, insights, and beliefs into their pithy equivalents. Someone who talks at length around the edge of a subject is seen to be equivocating. But I have decided that this is a dangerous way of looking at things. Everything that we consider true, objectively or experientially,  reduces to absolutely nothing if it is pressed rigorously. It is not often considered that the very truth of a matter may have some inextricable link to the manner in which it sinks into the consciousness, or a lack of definite conclusions. I am not naturally inclined to think this way; it hurts me. But I am beginning to think that there is no alternative to assuming that the truth floats somewhere between the incipient shape of an idea, and its ultimate conclusions down in the pit of high-entropy thought, from which nothing can escape.

3 Responses to “The Rub of it All”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    “It is not often considered that the very truth of a matter may have some inextricable link to the manner in which it sinks into the consciousness…”

    If it helps any, this occurs to me fairly often.

  2. According to the lab-coats, entropy is necessary if any life, and our thoughts about it, are to exist at all.

  3. … I’m under the impression that the same could be said for any facet of natural law.

Leave a Reply

