Counterintuitive

I sat at a table in a coffee shop. I said something that I’ve known for a long time: that I believe it, but it doesn’t make sense. I heard something that I’ve never heard before:

“I mean…it’s pretty counterintuitive.”

Now that’s something. I always thought it was intuitive but illogical. I don’t often hear a Christian call faith counterintuitive.

But I thought to myself: we all have two types of intuition–the kind that tells us what ought to be true, and the kind that tells us what actually is true.

So I discovered, there, that my faith is counterintuitive.

7 Responses to “Counterintuitive”

  1. Christine Says:

    cool. 🙂

  2. Stephanie Says:

    The Christian faith has always made logical sense to me, actually. Perhaps I have a simple understanding, but the schematic has always been clear. It is the fact that the schematic exists that boggles my mind whenever I really think about it.

  3. I find many aspects of it logical–I mean only that it does not make the final call. It isn’t what ratifies my faith.

  4. Stephanie Says:

    So if it isn’t logic that ratifies faith, and it isn’t intuition… what is it? Reformed Presbyterians would say it’s the unlooked-for conviction of the Spirit, but I don’t buy that.

  5. Welcome to the mystery of intuition ratifying counterintuitive faith.

  6. Stephanie Says:

    😛 If the glory of kings is to search a matter out, you, sir, are an anarchist.

  7. Stephanie Says:

    and that emoticon should not be smiling, it should be pulling a face.

Leave a Reply

